Magic Of Istanbul
MAGIC of ISTANBUL tour PACKAGE (2 days)
+ FREE TRANSFER AND SHOPPING TOUR
(New Istanbul Airport - hotel - New Istanbul Airport)
TUR NO: S1 Capital of the OTTOMANS (WEDNESDAY, SATURDAY, SUNDAY)
TUR NO:D2 ANCIENT CONSTANTINOPLE (TUESDAY, FRIDAY, SUNDAY)
TOUR PACKAGE PROGRAM:
DAY 1: CAPITAL OF THE OTTOMANS
Topkapi Palace is one of the main attractions of Istanbul and one of the most famous museums in the world. It was built in 1479 by order of Sultan Mehmet on the coast of the Marmara Sea, and for 400 years, until the middle of the 19th century, the Palace was the main residence of the Turkish padishahs. The Museum displays only a tenth of the exhibits, and it has about 65 thousand units. The Armory, harem, Treasury, library, collection of ancient manuscripts and many pavilions are part of the Palace complex. Unique handmade items made of porcelain, silver, gold and precious stones will be admired even by experienced travelers.
The territory of the Palace is surrounded by greenery, its area is 700 thousand sq. meters, and the Palace complex is surrounded by beautiful gardens and parks. You will have an opportunity to walk through them and take picturesque memorable photos.
The Blue Mosque, or Sultanahmet Mosque, is one of the most significant symbols of Istanbul. The mosque was built in the 16th century by order of Sultan Ahmet I, it is the greatest masterpiece of not only Islamic but also world architecture, as well as one of the largest mosques in the world. The name of the mosque was given due to the handmade white and blue tiles that were used in interior decoration.
The Hippodrome occupies part of Sultanahmet square. The construction of the Hippodrome was started by the Roman Emperor Septimius Severus in 203, in those distant times when the ancient city of Byzantium stood on the site of the city of Istanbul. The square was intended for chariot racing – one of the most spectacular competitions of those times. Then, in 330, the Emperor Constantine created a new capital and rebuilt the square, increasing its territory in length and width. In 1453, after the Turkish conquest of Constantinople, the Hippodrome was already used for mass entertainment events. The square has preserved the most ancient architectural monuments. This is a 300-ton Egyptian Obelisk made of pink and white Aswan granite, dating from the 16th century BC, and a Serpentine Column symbolizing the victory of the Greeks over the Persians in 479 BC.
The German fountain, located in the Central Sultanahmet square, was given by the Germans to the Ottoman Empire in memory of Kaiser Wilhelm II's second visit to Istanbul in 1898. The fountain is built in the neo-Byzantine style in the form of an eight-column gazebo, decorated with gold mosaics inside. It was constructed in Germany and then transported in parts to Istanbul.
Hamam Hurrem Sultan (external inspection) was built in 1557 by order of Sultan Suleiman for his beloved wife Hurrem Sultan. After 1910, the bathhouse was unfortunately closed and abandoned. In 2011, after restoration work, the bathhouse was reopened to the public, and now it looks the same as it did 450 years ago. It should be noted that 17 million Turkish liras were spent on the restoration of the bath. Now the bath is functioning and is the most expensive and elite bath in Turkey.
DAY 2: ANCIENT CONSTANTINOPLE
The Chora Church is included in the World Heritage List of monuments in Istanbul. The Church was built in the 5th century, but it did not preserve its original appearance, as it had been destroyed and rebuilt many times over the centuries. After the Turkish conquest of Constantinople, all the Byzantine motifs: frescoes, mosaics and paintings on the walls and ceilings of the Church were hidden under a thick layer of plaster. Thus, the Church was turned into a Kariye Mosque. And only in our days, already in the modern Islamic city of Istanbul, the Church of the Chora has come back to life. In 1948 it was restored and miraculously preserved Byzantine motifs can now be seen on the walls and under the dome of the Church, which is now a Museum.
The Patriarchate of Constantinople dates back to 330, when the city of Constantinople replaced Byzantium and became the capital of the Roman Empire. The first Church was founded by the Apostle Andrew the First-called. It was followed by three more Ecumenical Councils, which strengthened the status of Constantinople as a Christian capital, equaling its status with Rome itself. Interestingly, even after the conquest of Constantinople, the Patriarchate continued to perform its functions, remaining the center of Christianity in the Ottoman Empire. Among the main relics of the Patriarchate of Constantinople, you can see the relics of the Holy Fathers of the Church - Gregory the Theologian, John Chrysostom and Basil the Great; the Patriarchal Throne belonging to John Chrysostom; the flagellation of Christ and Holy Icons.
The Church of Blachernae is a well-known Temple of God in the world of Christianity. It was built in the 5th century at the foot of the sixth Constantinople hill behind Theodosius walls specifically for storing the greatest shrines of the Christian world. This is an Icon and belt of the most Holy Theotokos, who performed the most real miracles described in the Church Chronicles. In 1070, after the fire, the completely destroyed Church was rebuilt. Today, the Blachernae Church is active and is a modest building. But its history and status are of great historical and religious value.
Golden Horn is considered to be one of the most beautiful and natural harbors in the world, shaped like a horn. The European part of Istanbul is located on both sides of the Bay. The opposite banks are connected by 5 bridges: Galata, Old Galata, Halich Bridge, Ataturk Bridge and the Golden hHrn Metro Bridge. During sunset, the Strait shines with Golden light reflection. Hence the name "Golden Horn". You will drive along the Bank of the Golden Horn and enjoy the wonderful views of the city.
The Temple of the life-giving Spring is located in the Balykly Monastery. It is built on the site of a spring with healing water, hence the eponymous name of the temple. Legend has it that in 450 the mother of God herself pointed out to the Byzantine Emperor Leo I Markella the place of a spring with healing water and ordered to build a temple there. Since then, miracles have been performed here: the sick were cured of serious diseases, the departed were resurrected…
A special place in the Church is occupied by the Icon of the life-giving Source of the most Holy Theotokos. It shows the mother of God with the infant Jesus in her arms. In many languages of the world, this sacred place is also called "fish" (balykly in Turkish).
Red fish swim in the spring, and there are also many amazing legends about their appearance. Our professional tour guides will tell you about them on the spot…
For reservations and any questions
Please, contact the Reservation Department
Our best regards,